Home » Uncategorized » Women Writers Wednesday 6/17/15

Women Writers Wednesday 6/17/15

I had the honor of being the guest reviewer for Angélique Jamail’s wonderful series Women Writers Wednesday. I talk about my relationship with Anne Shirley. Enjoy, and follow Angélique if you are not already. There is so much good stuff on this blog!

Sappho's Torque

This week’s response is to one of my childhood favorites, Anne of Green Gables. I could tell you stories of how that book mattered to me when I was in junior high (now called middle school), but it would seem utterly banal next to this lovely response from J.G. Lucas.

***

Anne of Green Gables and Me

I have no place reviewing Anne of Green Gables, by L.M. Montgomery. It is wonderful. If you haven’t read it, you should. The book has been around for 106 years and has sold millions of copies. There is nothing I could write about its contents that hasn’t been written before.

That said, the beauty of writing or art of any kind, is the way it transforms when experienced by each person. Anne changed and continues to change me, and I change her by the way I experience her.

My first exposure…

View original post 768 more words

Leave a Reply

